Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I'm going to Vancouver
2001-11-28 11:28 a.m.

So, I'm going to be out of the country for a few days.....

Hee! I never thought I'd get a chance to say that.

See, one of D's eccentric old uncles in Vancouver has decided he wants to see the whole damn family this Christmas, including a whole horde of grandchildren and girlfriends and such that he's never actually met. He's paying for plane tickets for everyone.

I wish I had an eccentric old uncle. There just aren't nearly enough people in my life who randomly throw down great steaming piles of cash to let me do cool stuff.

I've never been on an airplane. I've never seen an ocean. I love you, Crazy Uncle Whoeveryouare!

I've never spent Christmas with strangers. I've never been on an airplane. So, yeah. I'm a little scared too, but this is just such an amazing opportunity. I'm going to Vancouver!!!

I told Duli and Mike that I'd be gone about a week. Strangely, they were totally OK with this. There is an advantage to being the one who's ALWAYS willing to do more. When I really need time off, I get it, no questions asked.

No one is certain about when exactly this is going down. D. is thinking he can't just randomly get a few days off, so I think he's planning on just going for the 4-day weekend, and being back at work on the 26th. That seems like total crazy talk. Spending Christmas Day on a plane?? That's just gotta be a bad scene. But if that's the only way we can do this, I guess that's how it will have to be.

And there really is no down side to this, because all the slightly negative stuff in my brain is counterbalanced by one thing: I'M GOING TO VANCOUVER!!

***

I was in BookWorld yesterday (Buying Fellowship. Yeah, yeah. I'm a bad dork. I read The Hobbit as a kid, but no further. Now everyone in my social circle is all superhyped about LOTR, and I've simply gotta get caught up. It's the Harry Potter for grownups, or something) and Patti asked me if I'd ever heard from the Zenith bookstore. Well, no, not yet. "Ah, screw 'em. Whoops. Did I say that?" Patti is funny. But I was also suddenly depressed. It has been quite a while.

And then Mary wanted to have the whole conversation about why on Earth a college grad would want to be waitress. I told her I like the fast pace and the casual atmosphere and the instant job satisfaction of tips, etc. etc. etc., but I don't think either one of us really believed me. Feh.

This entry started out so positively. Let's finish it that way, too. I'm going to Vancouver! Woohoo!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey