Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I rule.
2001-11-04 12:45 p.m.

1)It's Sunday. I am not at work.

2) I'm not working tomorrow.

3) Or Tuesday, either.

Do me a favor. Take one minute and think about that with me.

I FUCKING HAVE THREE FUCKING DAYS OFF IN A FUCKING FUCKING ROW!!!!

Heehee. I'm so happy. I don't think that's happened, ever, since I started this job.

I am no longer the schedule's bitch. Linda is. She hasn't gotten any days off in the last three weeks. But since she's the one making the schedule lately, I don't even have to feel guilty about it.

Someday, it will get to her. She's gonna snap. She's gonna get all cranked up on tapioca and gyro sauce and kill us all. But until then, I can just sit back and enjoy my guaranteed two days off every single week, and maybe occaisonally score a day off at the end of one week, and two days off at the start of the next. I RULE!!!

***

This is seeming less and less significant, the more people I tell, but I think I have to write it here, anyway.

Friday, Bookstore Patti came into the restaurant with seven other people. I waited on them. I had a feeling I wanted to do a really good job, so I did.

My usual practice with large tables is just to write down how many of everything I need, and deal with who gets what when I get there. But instead, I took the time to note ok, starting on the left end, I need a clam chowder, and then a veggie soup, and then two more chowder, so I could impress them by getting it all spot on right. I came with the coffee religiously. I took leftovers to the kitchen and wrapped them up myself, instead of just throwing a handful of boxes on the table. Kissing ass successfully is all in the little details.

Later, Sue came in to tell me that those had been all the managers of all the Bookworlds/Paper Tigers in the area. Both she and Patti made a point of telling them "That awesome server at that little restaurant we went to? Oh, that's Ana J. Ng. I believe she turned in a job application with you."

Once again, I RULE!!!!

The only trouble is, apparently, the job I want is only part time. D. says that's fine, and we'd just have to cut back on the insane DVD splurges, but I'm still wondering if maybe I'd wanna try to stay at the restaurant part-time too.

I know that's probably a bad idea. If anything comes up at the bookstore, I'd wanna be able to be there. I couldn't always do that if I was working at the restaurant too. But part-time....

Oh well. I'll worry about it if it becomes an issue. Gotta remember that this hasn't actually happened yet. But it might. It really might. I RULE!!!



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey