Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Work has been not only shiny, but happy too. Are you as scared as I am?
2001-10-07 4:24 p.m.

Work has actually been pretty enjoyable lately. I made $103 yesterday, and $115 today. Go, me!

Two incidents stick out in my mind:

1) Friday night, Bookstore Patti came in. I was super busy and she wasn't in my section, but as she was leaving, she pulled me aside and asked me if I had "gone shopping in Zenith" wink wink nudge nudge. I grinned, and told her yes, yes I did.

That just made my night, her being all subtle and conspiratorial about it. It was almost as cool as the time Alice came in and told me the "Girl Scout cookies from Janesville" were in. I don't know why, but sneaky espionage-type shit always amuses the hell out of me, especially when I'm ostensibly doing something straight like working.

2) Yesterday, I enjoyed a kinda schadenfreude moment. Kathy hurt her wrist and Sue quit, so we were even more way understaffed than usual. Lusy was the 3rd waitress. She asked to be in the back section, because she's like pregnant and stuff. That meant she had to deal with the coffee guys.

Every morning, there's this group of 8-10 old men who come in and spend like 2-3 hours drinking coffee and talking. They rotate among the back section, switching tables as new guys come, and others step out for a minute to get a paper, or whatever. They usually mean that the back section waitress effectively has only one table with real people who leave decent tips and stuff for the first two hours she's there.

Was it so wrong of me to giggle when Lusy did nothing but bitch about these guys? I hope not. I did. On the inside, anyway.

See, we've been saying these guys suck since Geri's closed and they started coming in last January. Maybe now something will actually get done about them.

But I'm leaving soon anyway (I hope I hope I hope) so maybe it doesn't matter. If, however, my world ends and I don't get the bookstore job, it looks as though I may finally end up with reasonably sane hours at the restaurant.

One fulltime new person starts tomorrow, and apparently, another one starts next week. Nick says Linda and I will both be down to five days a week, roughly 40 hours.

WOOHOO! doesn't even begin to cover it.

So, even though my life will suck if I don't get the bookstore job, it will suck a lot less than it has lately.

Following Prnstr's (thanks!) advice, I called to check on my application at the bookstore yesterday. OwnerLady doesn't work weekends, so I'll have to call her back tomorrow.

Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Oh, and I wanted to mention how great it was, reading all of the support from you guys on this. If all my friends think I can really do this, maybe OwnerLady will think so too.

Yeah, that's totally specious reasoning. But for now, it works for me. I'm happy, goddammit.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey