Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Bored and boring.
2001-09-25 1:43 a.m.

Note to self: Check D-land every single day. I think I've finally managed to piece most of the story re Tammy together now, but apparently, I missed out on a bunch of key rants from various people.

I'm nosy, dammit. I think I'm going to have to ask all of you to carry on all the pissiness you have for each other in my guestbook. Oh, and if you could also drop me a personal note when you plan on starting one of these things, that would be great.

I'm such a total slacker when it comes to stalking people. You must all work a little bit harder, so I don't have to.

So, what do I think about all this? Uh, no comment. Ana sits smugly atop her high moral ground, and makes thppt thppt noises at the other Taus. Seriously, although I can totally understand where the anger is coming from, I don't think I know enough about the situation to get angry myself.

I don't really wanna talk about it, see. I just wanted to whine that I missed all the fireworks.

***

So what else is new?

D. and I spent a lot of money this weekend. The computer now has four times as much memory. We found a kickass new restaurant. He bought a game and a movie, and I bought the Sims expansions.

The funky part is, we did it all with money that doesn't really exist. My paycheck did some of it. My credit card did the rest. The paycheck part is not a big deal. Waitress paychecks in general are not a big deal. I like thinking of the little joke of a paycheck as bonus money. I usually don't even count it when I figure out how much money I'll have in a month.

The credit card part kinda worries me. I'm actually not that good at managing money. I'm just a lot better than D. is.

So now I'm a little stressed, because this virgin credit card that I wanted to save for Christmas is half gone. I shouldn't be, and I know it. I've been ignoring the extra $100/week D. makes now, specifically so I can use it for making the credit cards go away. But they're not going to ever go away if I don't stop using them like this.

***

This isn't going to be the clearest of entries (she said, halfway through). I'm kinda tired, and just killing time. That's been a real theme the last few days.

I spent far too long yesterday purely wasting time at DiabloLand. I was trying to copy the Sims for Anne. It didn't work. That took a few hours to establish. Then, I waited around for a long damn time while Vincent was on the phone so he could tell me what to try next. Finally, I gave up and went home to install the Sims expansions on my own machine. The little instruction book recommended I defrag my hard drive before installing. Well, all righty, then.

I shit you not, I spent an hour last night watching my hard drive defragment. That's all I did. Scary. I was thinking about was it really a total waste of my life to be doing this, if I was aware that it was a waste. Wouldn't it be more of a waste, if I was just sitting there slackjawed and drooling? Doesn't the fact that this boredom has propelled me into a philosophical knot prove its own worth? Then I just watched the little blips change colors for a while. Woohoohoo! Come on, 73 percent!

***

I just realized, I'm totally babbling here. I'm telling you about how bored I was yesterday. This is intrinsically a boring entry. I think I'm going to stop now, before I really embarrass myself.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey