Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

What to say?
2001-09-13 12:46 p.m.

What to say? What to feel?

Let's start with an exercise in contrast. This is my man Uncle Bob writing his normal 6am entry on Tuesday. Funny stuff. He's a funny guy. Now check out the other three entries he did that day.

See what I mean? I think that's what's most compelling about all this. Just BAM, and suddenly everyone's reality shifts into a new and terrifying place.

***

I didn't know a thing until 10:15 or so. I was going to pick up Paul and his smelly laundry. I was cross that all the radio stations seemed to be talking about boring news stuff. I finally found a station playing music.

I got to Paul's. He came to the door, and said, "You've gotta come see this."

"That's the World Trade Center."

"What?"

"It's gone. The whole thing is gone."

It didn't really sink in at first. I tried to listen to the news broadcast. 20,000 people, four separate attacks, symbol of American commerce, all air traffic stopped, people jumping out windows...

We drove to the laundromat. We watched more news with another guy.

"I hope you guys don't think this cold, but this all seems like something out of a movie."

"Yeah, it doesn't really seem real."

"It's like...Armageddon."

(Ana's brain: "Yeek. Good metaphor, pal.")

"Or...Independence Day."

(Uh....rabid patriotism? They will pay! They will all pay! The USA is gonna kick some fuckin ass!! GOD BLESS AMERICA, YOU SCUMSUCKING FAGGOTS! Splendid.)

It's probably best that Paul was holding up our end of the conversation on that one.

***

There's really nothing I can say here. I don't know what's going on. Every time I try to find out news, all I can find are the personal stories. Those hurt too much to make me want to keep looking.

I don't have a story. I'm in Wisconsin. I know of people involved, but I don't think I actually know anyone. And everything else I could say seems kinda trite. Death is bad. War is bad. I oppose all bad things.

Yeah.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey