Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Maybe I am a Sim
2001-09-01 11:35 a.m.

I wasn't going to do this entry, really I wasn't.

It's another "Ana is a gaming loser weenie entry." And the worst part is, it's not even a little bit topical. The Sims are so last year.

But it's my new obsession. It's actually a little scary, how into this game I am. Nicholas ICQed me the other night. I haven't talked to him in like three months. And I did nothing during the whole conversation but babble about how I'd just redone the upstairs bathroom in pink.

That's hilarious, by the way. I've got two guys. I seduced Bob Newbie, and he moved in. He and Michael Bachelor can't keep their hands off each other. They get insanely jealous whenever anyone else comes to visit. For a while I kept them in matching outfits, but then I decided that really was a little scary.

***

D. keeps teasing me about my gay family.

"That's unnatural! Why are you doing that to them?"

"They're young and in love. Who am I to question their lifestyle choices?"

"Duh, you're their God. That's what Gods do."

"But they're so happy together. I'm a benevolent, noninterfering God."

"You're a freaky God who likes watching gay men get it on. Are they in the hot tub again?"

"They like the hot tub."

"Are they at least wearing swimsuits this time?"

***

No, they weren't, actually. And then they played with the dollhouse together all night long. I buy them everything. But nothing makes them giggle quite so much as the dollhouse.

That's kinda trippy, when I think about it too much. Here I am, moving little people around their (very tastefully decorated) little house, and watching them do almost the same thing with even smaller little people. They're also really into the computer. I know for a fact that they're playing "The Sims." Cosmic, eh?

***

I am playing this game too damn much. I get up from the computer, wander into the kitchen for no apparent reason, go back to the computer, and realize I just saw Michael do the exact same thing. D and I will be talking, and he makes me laugh. I lean over to touch his neck. I can feel my social bar filling.

***

D. started playing, but lost interest pretty quickly. He has so many other games right now. But there's still a little guy named D. wearing black wandering around the neighborhood. I almost made an Ana Sim, but then I couldn't figure out how to accurately set her attributes. What if the Sim me turned out be totally unplayable?

Besides, that really would have gotten scary. It's bad enough that I'm obessing like this over the imaginary lives of complete strangers. I'd be totally out of control if I had a Mini Me to play.

***

Gotta get to work. Soom, soom.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey