Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

YOU'RE scared? Think how I feel. I'm the one with pebble golems running around inside my brain.
2001-07-27 11:52 a.m.

OK. Now there's only an hour of free time left. I guess I can start an entry now.

I swear. The internet eats time. I was going to do an entry an hour and a half ago. But first I had to check my mail, check up on all you people, quick nosy peek at a few guestbooks and updated profiles, and now there's only an hour left till I have to pick D. up from work.

Maybe I work better under pressure. Let's find out...

***

I worked Wednesday, but then Sue very decently agreed to work for me yesterday. In a way, that's almost more cool. I come back from my day off, and it's Friday already. And weekends, I work days, so it's almost like a day off. There's something really satisfying about realizing you're all through being responsible for the day at 3 in the afternoon.

I don't think I could work days all the time. Too much is always going on after 10pm in my social circle. But I like the weekend days. And, the money is insane.

***

I really haven't seen too much of D. this week. In a way, this is a good thing. I love him to death. But I also love doing things without him sometimes.

It sounds strange, but sometimes when we go places together, I feel more like we're hanging out with his friends, and they're only tolerating me cuz I'm his girlfriend. I know that's totally not true, but I always feel extra proud of myself when I happen to go these same places alone, and realize (again) that everyone really does like just me too.

***

But, now we've had a few days apart, and I'm ready to spend time with him again.

We'll probably spend it in DiabloLand.

But that's ok. I saw that newfangled Act V for the first time last night. I was partied up with a bunch of people who were tearing through it, and I'd really like to take some time to just go through it again at my own pace. I may never know what the first three quests were really about. But at least I can explore. I likes exploring. Open every damn chest. Kill every single monster. Find many shiny things. It's the only way to play.

***

Alice and I were talking last night, and she pointed out that there just haven't been any RPGs this summer. She and Yahn have both been pretty severely antiHAT lately, but that's a good point. How odd.

Of course, Dante and D. are both working 5am-1 lately, and everyone else is nights, so it's probably mostly timing issues, but it still seems odd. There are absolutely no campaigns. There's a lotta Diablo, and some CounterStrike, but there hasn't even been that much Magic lately.

We've evolved. Instead of gaming weenies, we're all technogeeks now. How very very odd.

***

The last few nights I've been giggling myself to sleep with a story idea. I haven't gotten very far, because, well, I keep falling asleep, but maybe writing what I have so far will help me figure out if it's just me being supertired and silly, or if it might be something more.

It's a pebble golem. It's just like a regular golem, only much smaller. It's tireless, will follow repetitive commands for days on end, and it has the strength of twenty lawn gnomes.

Put it to work, picking cat hair off the carpet. It could do windows, but it would take a really long time. It's only about six inches tall, see. It's more of a conversation piece, really. It keeps the carpet cathair-free. That is what it does. It does nothing else. But it does it really really well....

Just imagine. A teeny little granite statue wandering around your home, collecting cat hair. Forever. In my mind, it's got a round head and stubby little legs. It's the cutest thing you ever saw.

And you wouldn't even have to worry about it going out of control, like those full size golems. If it got uppitty, you could just pick it up and throw it out the window, and it would smash into a million pieces. Just try that with a regular golem.

***

So, that what's been on my mind lately. Pebble golems. Are you scared yet?

I see now that it is indeed completely silly, but it still cracks me up. Look at dose little legs!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey