Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Airplanes and Money
2001-07-25 11:47 a.m.

I hate summer colds. In addition to the sore throat and stuffy nose, I spend the whole time feeling incompetent.

You freak! It's 90 degrees out! What the hell are you doing with a cold? Can't you do anything right?

Feh.

***

So, I get to spend today desperately hoping that I don't get called into work. There's some sort of nonsense with airplanes going on in Zenith this week. (Heh. Even when I lived there, that was basically my opinion of things. Lotta airplanes. Hella lotta tourists. It's supposedly Zenith's whole reason of existance, but it has such a relatively small effect on my life. "Oh yeah. Airplanes. Those are the ones that fly, right? Whoopie.") Anyway, since Cowtown is only 20 miles away, Nick was all over us being superhyped about the airplanes too. Monday and yesterday, he ran with three waitresses instead of two, and although there's only two on the schedule tonight, Nick asked me to stay near the phone today, so that if things get crazy, I can come in.

Both nights so far this week, the 3rd waitress was sent home early, after three hours of no one making decent money. It's a little busier, yeah, but not quite busy enough to justify three waitresses. And Sue loves me. She wants to make money, and she wants me to have a day off. So I probably won't get called in. But I still have to stick around home till 7 or so, just in case.

I've been back on one day off a week again for a while, and it's really starting to get to me. Nick never should have let me go a whole month with the five day work week that is my constitutional right as an American. Now, I just see how much one day off a week really sucks.

It's not even a question of hours. The difference between working five days and six is only 4-5 hours. But it's a day. I like having days off. I spend the first day winding down, and the second day actually enjoying myself. I can't do that with just one day. Especially if I have to spend my day off wondering if I'll have to work.

***

In possibly unrelated news, the finances are so allaround splendid that it's a little scary. The savings are growing by leaps and bounds. Counting the BestBuy credit card, we should have at least $1200 to throw at a computer by the end of August.

I refuse to accept that I'm able to put $50 in savings each week religiously because I'm making roughly $40 more each week.

Well, ok. Maybe there is a relation here. Dammit! My mom's been pushing her new financial revelation at me every time I see her for the last six months. Basically, either you have money, or you have time to enjoy it. I never thought I'd see it manifested so specifically, though.

***

When it was so hot last week, George started doing something almost unbearably cute. For Christmas, D's mom gave him a little mini water fountain. It's got rocks, and running water, and it's supposed to be serene, or something. At one point last week, I saw it sitting on the table gathering dust, and decided that was silly. So, I filled it up and turned it on.

George started drinking out of it. It was on a very low table, so he would stand up on his hind legs, put his paws on the table, lean over, and drink. I swear, it was the cutest damn thing I ever saw.

He's abandoned his water bowl entirely now. He comes over when I fill it in the morning, looks at me like I'm insane, and then goes into the living room to drink out of his fountain. "What are you doing, Hu-Man? That water does not move! I drink only wild water now!" Freak.

So, I moved the fountain to the floor, so he could reach it better. D. laughed at me, but hey. It's important that he drinks enough water, right?

Jeez. I am such a crazy cat lady. I have the most spoiled cat on the planet.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey