Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Spaghetti Fairy.
2001-07-19 12:54 p.m.

So, yeah. I'm not dead. I just spent a week thinking about how horribly putzy and slow my computer is, and deciding I really didn't want to deal. Also, it's really hot in the computer room. Didja miss me??

I actually was online a little over the weekend. Mom and Gramma both gave me money for my birthday, and exercising iron self control, I deposited half in the Must Get Computer Fund, and ran amok in Amazon.com with a mere $50.

It was horrible. So many times, I thought, "Hey, this is my birthday money. We're never going to get a computer anyway. I should just spend that other 50 right here and now. Hell, maybe I'll deplete the entire savings account. So many pretty books....I want them all!"

But I held firm. I'm probably a better person for it, or something. When the dust settled, I had spent $61.45 of the $50. Not bad.

I picked up Principia Discordia and The Church of the Subgenius among other things. So, y'all can look forward to dealing with an even more raving paranoid than usual. I love mock religions.

***

Yesterday, I made spaghetti. This was an event. The urge to actually cook something beyond Hamburger Helper only strikes me every few months. Trouble is, with spaghetti, I always put in a little of so much different stuff that I end up with more spaghetti than D. and I could hope to eat. So, I told a few people I was planning on doing this. So, then I decided to make even more.

I cleaned the kitchen. I sauteed two kinds of meat. I chopped veggies. I minced garlic. I let it all simmer all afternoon long. I realized I'd been a fool to start out with a clean kitchen, and cleaned the kithen again. I did a quick straightening up of the rest of the house.

And I waited. And I waited. I'd told people food would be ready at 6, so I wasn't too worried when no one was here by 5:30. At 6:15, I told D. all our friends suck, and put enough noodles for two on to boil.

He suggested I call people. At the HAT, Bob was the only one home, and he said he hates spaghetti. I was almost in tears. I slaved all day. I'm offering free food. What the hell's wrong with everyone?

I called Yahn and Alice. Yahn said they had just woken up, and were just about to call me. Yaay. Ken and BT were all over free food. Yaay. Wej said he hates spaghetti, but he'd come over and be social anyway, and maybe Sara would come too. Yaay. I cooked more noodles.

So, all was well. Two people who said they'd be there weren't, but four bonus people were. Wej said it smelled repulsive, but everyone else seemed to enjoy it. Go, me.

There turned out to be just enough leftovers for one meal for D. and me, which seems perfectly reasonable. I was going to package up leftovers for the various people who I knew were working, but I don't think I'm going to do that after all. I think I earned a little leftovers.

Next time, maybe I'll make twice as much food as I know six healthy adults could eat, and then I can play Spaghetti Fairy all over town.

Or maybe not. That's kind of a disturbing image. I am the Spaghetti Fairy, scattering garlic and parmesan wherever I go! Good children wake up with soggy noodles under their pillows. Um, yeah. Something like that.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey