Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

The finances are only complicated when I think about them too hard.
2001-06-21 10:20 a.m.

So, what's new, Ana?

You mean, besides the fact that I suddenly seem to think I'm Ken here?

Oh, stop it. You know perfectly well that Ken didn't invent the idea of talking to oneself. You did.

Oh, yeah. I forgot.

***

Not a lot, actually. I work today. This is a good thing. I love the two days off in a row, but I've really gotta start planning for it a little better. I sent D. to work today with a pocketful of change for lunch money, because it was all I had.

This morning when I mentioned it to D., he was all "Maybe you should ask if you could work like three hours every single day." Um, no. I make almost $200 most weekends. The last two weeks, it's all been spent by Monday. I just need to exercise a little more self control, is all. And absolutely no more letting D. go berserk, because "it's been a while since he got to do that." The last two weeks, that's where the main chunk of my weekend money has gone.

I want to get a new computer this summer. I will get a new computer this summer. I was talking with Vincent, and I told him ze plan was to get at least $1000 together. He said for that kind of money, we could get one on par with his machine, and if we didn't go crazy buying monitors, maybe even one significantly better than his.

That's so cool. I think that means we actually only have to aim for maybe $800 or so. I really think we can do it, if we stop buying a lot of small stupid stuff. We have the money. I know we do. It's just going to take a little bit of self control.

D's insane, by the way. He's back on the 4-4 shifts, and he volunteered to work Saturday, too. That's almost 70 hours this week, people. Good money, yeah, but damn. How does he do it?

I thought we'd have an instant extra $200, but Ford Credit is on crack. Last month, I got this letter saying since I was such a loyal customer, they would defer one month of car payments for me. I said, Sign me up, yo. I sent back the little card. A week later, I got my normal statement, payment due June 10.

I called Ford. They said they had no record of receiving the card yet, but maybe if I called back a little closer to the due date, the paperwork would have straightened itself out.

I called Ford again. They still hadn't received the original little card, but the woman said she could send me another one, to have July deferred instead. I sent the June payment.

Last week, June 15, I got an envelope in the mail: "Congratulations! Your June payment has been deferred until September 2004! Your next scheduled payment will be due July 10!" Uh, thanks, guys.

Oh well. I thought it sounded too good to be true. And it's not like I needed the money. It just would have been nice to have essentially a bonus $200. But we can still do this. I know we can.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey