Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Toxic fumes will melt kitten brain!
2001-06-15 9:13 a.m.

I'm feeling a little irrationally guilty about putting up an entry that I start out by saying you really shouldn't read, so here's what else is new:

D's hair is driving me insane. Wednesday morning, he said, hey, let's do the hair tonight after I'm done with work. Wednesday night, he came home, and wanted to just chill out for a while first. I did laundry. I read for a while. Finally, at like 8 or so, he was ready. I applied bleach stuff. We waited 20 minutes, and then he rinsed. He noticed that once again, I'd missed the roots. I was sick of hair, and told him it really wouldn't be noticeable after the blue stuff was put on.

I was really frustrated with him for being so damn picky, and I hate the smell of the bleach, and I've never invested this much time in any aspect of my own damn appearance, and why the fuck does he want blue hair anyway, and I was furious with myself for not doing it right the first time. After about 10 minutes of inner fuming, I realized the main issue was that I was mad at myself for screwing up and prolonging the whole hair thing even longer than it had to be, so I told him I'd go to K-mart and get a new box of MaxiBlonde, and try again.

I came home, and we read for a while to chill out, and then he fell asleep. He'd been up since 3am. 9:30 pretty much had to be bedtime.

Yesterday, once again, he said he wanted to do it, but not quite right away. Again, things got underway about 8. I got the roots this time. There was still about 4/5 of a bottle left. Grumble grumble ten bucks. He waited for his hair to air dry because we don't currently own a blowdryer. That's how much of a haircare fanatic I am. We read for a while, and fell asleep.

This means that tonight, I am once again going to have to play with his hair, which I hate. I keep trying to be all ok let's do this, get it over with, and get on with our lives. And it keeps not happening. D's hair maintenance is becoming some sort of horrible epic. At least all that's left is the blue. I don't mind the blue part so much. The Blue doesn't have pages and pages of warnings. DO NOT APPLY DIRECTLY TO SKIN. DO NOT LEAVE MAXIBLONDE IN HAIR FOR LONGER THAN RECOMMENDED TIME. DO NOT TAUNT MAXIBLONDE. The whole time I'm playing with the bleach stuff, I'm thinking, Eeehh! I'm going to screw up, and his head is going to dissolve! No, kitten! Do not come to play right now! Get out of the room! Toxic fumes will melt kitten brain! Eeh! Eeh! Eeeeehhh!

The blue stuff is comparatively nothing. It smells kinda good. It's gloopy and fun like fingerpaint. It's almost impossible to miss a spot, because when I rinse it out, it gets absolutely everywhere anyway. I really can't stand that MaxiBlonde crap though. Maybe next time, I'll persuade him to just try the blue on top of his normal color. The bottle says subtle highlights. That might be pretty cool. And I won't have to stress about the highly toxic stuff.

***

George is sitting on my lap as I type this. He never used to be a lap kitty. He was all over being held while I was standing, but if I tried to sit down, he'd leave. But lately, every time I play on the computer, he's right here. He starts out sitting on top of the case. Then, if I don't immediately pick him up, he'll leap right onto the keyboard. It's funny. It's like he doesn't want to admit he wants attention, so he won't go right on my lap. Nope. He has to go somewhere where he knows I'll pick him up. That way, he still gets to be a macho kitty who don't need no lovin. But well, as long as he's here in my lap, maybe he'll stay a while.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey