Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Baby you can drive my car, and other general ramblings
2001-03-28 08:56 a.m.

That was a little messed up. I just had The Actor Dream. You know, the one actors talk about all the time, about walking on stage and realizing they don't know any of the lines?

I am not an actress. The last thing I did onstage was in 8th grade. But I just had the Actor Dream. Someone ask Julia Roberts if maybe I had her dream by mistake. But she probably wouldn't have been dreaming about a Misc. U. setting. Maybe it was Ken's dream.

The really screwy part is, it was a continuation of a dream I had a few months ago. I'd had this dream where I was in an acting class, and they gave me a script, and told me to learn the lines.

So, I had this dream, and it had all the people I remembered from the acting class dream a few months ago, and they all assumed I'd spent the time preparing. I hadn't, of course. I'd woken up, and gone on with my life.

So, I was in this room with the other people in my acting class, waiting for the makeup crew to come in, and trying not to let the others know I was desperately looking for a copy of the script. From what I remembered, my character spent the whole play sitting down, so maybe I could hide the script in my lap and fake it.

I was really panicking. I was going to make such a fool out of myself. Then, I realized it was a dream, and felt a lot better. Then, I realized since it was a dream, I didn't even have to be there if I didn't want to. I just sort of poofed out of existance, and woke up.

***

Hee. I'm pretty sure that Writing About Your Dreams is on damn near every Don't Do This In Your Journal list in the world. It makes pretty boring reading. I see that now.

But I thought it was interesting, so I guess that was just my personal self-indulgent moment. I'll try not to have another one for a while.

***

As soon as D. wakes up, we're gonna go get that boy his temps. It kinda sucks, because we're going to have to do it in Springfield. I grew up in Zenith. I know Zenith. I even know the part of town they give the driving test in. But since Cowtown is in Springfield County, he's going to have to take the driving test in Springfield. I don't know Springfield at all. I won't be able to tell him things like, "Up here, you'll want the left lane," because I don't have a clue.

I think Cowtown actually had a DMV office for a few hours each week. Maybe he can eventually take the test here.

And, yeah. There is part of me freaking out a little about this. Aaah! I'm not supposed to have to go through the whole 'inexperienced driver in my car while I clutch the dashboard for dear life' thing till I have a teenager!

But, I'm pretty sure he told me once that he did in fact get his temps in Chicago, and drove his parents' car a few times. Then, he just never got the temps renewed. So, it's not that he's never driven. He just hasn't driven in 12 years. Yeah. That makes me feel better...

***

Oh, and check it out, yo. I'm gettin' down with my mad phat HTML skillz.

I was just thinking about how much I wanted "previous" and "next" buttons, and I get the e-mail from Andrew, telling me how. My template isn't an option anymore, so I couldn't do it the easy way. I looked at the pile of gibberish that is my HTML script, and made a lucky guess where to slip it in. I kick so much ass.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey