Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

In which Ana finds and abuses a soapbox.
2001-03-05 13:34:18

Wow. Damn inbred journals...

I read a Tau journal today. She mentioned a legendary house alum. Then, the next place I went happened to be a response to her entry. I am now strongly tempted to respond to his response, but I really think I'm better off ignoring the whole silliness. LOWER THE CONE OF SILENCE!!! Aaah. It's not even happening. Bliss bliss bliss bliss bliss...

***

I have been thinking a lot about Legendary House Alums, though. This is as good a time as any to segue into that topic, I guess.

I remember someone at the House saying recently, "I hate it when they say 'this isn't my house anymore'."

I think she was actually referring to current actives, or recent alums saying that, and that's an entirely different discussion. But from where I'm coming from, it really isn't "my" Tau anymore. In some ways it's worse, but in some ways it's better. But no matter how you try, you just can't be the people I loved.

(I'm gonna lapse into Insufferably Wise Elder Tau for a minute here. Please bear with me.)

Right now, you kids are shaping yourselves. You are becoming adults. You're shedding off a lot of things you used to be, and trying on some new ones.

That's what college is. But the really clever bit is, you're not doing it alone. You're doing it surrounded by a bunch of people your own age who are also going through the same process. You're going to remember these people forever, because you were all there for each other while this major personal upheaval was going on. It's like one big bonding experience thingy. Let me know if I get too technical here.

The point is, I define "my" Tau as the people who I lived with, who were right there, going through it with me. You guys can't ever be those people. The timing is all wrong.

That's what I mean, when I say it. I'm being literal. I do understand, though, where the other people who say it are coming from.

The memories of college are especially sharp for the first few years in the real world. Alums come back, and instead of seeing the people they love, all they see are a bunch of strangers living in their rooms. I've been there. It's really disconcerting. They say things like, "This isn't Tau anymore!" but what you have to understand is, what they really mean is "Where are all of my old friends?"

I think what I'm trying to say here is it's not you guys. The Alums who say that are going through a very personal period of readjustment, and they're blaming you for not being someone else.

The really clever part is, I've been watching you. I'm spending a lot more time at the House than I have for a few years, and I see it now. You guys are Taus. You're just slightly different ones.

You drink less. You study more. Overall, you're probably a lot more emotionally stable. There are a lot less insurmountable schisms. You're a lot more tolerant of each other. I see a lot more love in the House.

Maybe having so many alums so actively involved in the House is a bad thing. You hear us telling stories, and you can't help feeling that you aren't fullfilling "The Tau Ideal." Lemme tell you, it would actually be kinda scary if you were. It wasn't all bonghits and roses, kids.

Instead, you're making your own Tau. And in a couple years, you're going to come back and get pissed off at all these freaks who are screwing it up.

***

Jeez. I've been writing for about three hours here. I'm done now. /soapbox.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey