Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

So, who's the moron this hand?
2001-02-22 15:21:39

Got to play a little bridge last night.

It was a very strange game. Katie and Brook were both horribly underbidding, but since they were playing all screwy, they always ended up in the right sorts of bids. If I had been as hardcore about bidding as I wanted to be, it would have become obvious that they didn't really know how to play either, and I would have had to get all bitchy about that too. It seemed like more trouble than it was worth.

I know that almost no one in the current House likes playing with Jack, because that's exactly what he does. I also know that in a way, he's right. I learned to play in the Let Me Explain Something To You *THWACK!* School of Bridge. You feel like a complete idiot for the first few games, but there are things you'll never do again. But, these people don't like hearing about their faults. They're humoring me by even playing, so I'm not going to get all hardcore and make this unpleasant.

So, I was playing Passive Bridge. They made a two bid, and a two bid, and a three bid. Lord, do I hate part scores. I raised Paul to Game, and he made it. We set them a few times, and they set us once. And then I raised Paul to Game again, and he made it, and that was the rubber.

It was so frustrating. The board was consistently put together upside down. I decided that wasn't worth being pissy about. I probably should have enforced the bit about Trump being on the left, though. "Am I the idiot?" "No, you're playing. I get to be the moron." "It's...it's called 'dummy', guys..."

See, the most irritating part for me was the stuff I knew was just me being anal. I reasoned that eventually, these new players would realize that dozens of sloppily played two-bids are no way to win a game, and then they would ask me what they could be doing better. So, I said nothing about how Katie never pulled trump. For now, it seemed to be working for her. But it was driving me out of my mind, watching the board get put together upside down.

I know they were doing their best. I even know that technically, they made nearly all of their bids. But dammit. I want bridge. I want game bids. I want the Trump suit to be on the left, as God intended. I know that if I go down to the House again tonight, I'll just find more two-bids. Grr.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey