Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Challenge 4, kinda
2001-02-15 00:55:30

OK, Hand. Now you're just fucking with me.

They say you tell alot about a person by the company he or she keeps. Imagine that it is many years in the future, you and your best are now happily (or maybe grumpily)retired sitting on the porch of a nursing home. Write out a dialogue between you and your best friend about one of your favorite memories of each other. (it can be an event that has already happened or you can write about something that you could imagining happen in the future).

Well, my best friend is D. And I told the classic Ana and D story last week. There are of course other stories about us, like the summer of "Location, location, location!" (I was trying to lose some purity points, and that's all I'm gonna say.) but that's really my favorite one.

At first I tried convincing myself that this was a true Writing Challenge. Take this story that I'd just told, and retell it, but from the point of view of both of us remembering it fifty years later.

Then, I decided I just didn't want to do that. The deadline for this puppy is midnight, but I've got 10 minutes before I pick D. up, and we're gonna spend the night celebrating Valentine's Day, thankyaverymuch.

So, I'm gonna take a pass on this one. What are they gonna do? Vote me off the island?

It occurs to me now that I really don't have to justify not playing this week to anyone. In fact, taking the time to explain why I'm not playing is probably just total delusion on my part, and maybe even a little bit scary. As far as I know, none of the real players or judges even know I exist.

I'm going to stop this now.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey