Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Mostly work.
2001-02-03 16:06:07

So, I'm sitting here, chain smoking cigarette butts, because I'm too damn lazy to go to the gas station. It's only a block away, so I really can't justify driving. I'd have to *whine* find my coat, and my hat, and my mittens, and maybe some shoes, and walk all the way there, and then all the way home and

Actually, it wouldn't be that bad, I guess. Talk amongst yourselves. Back in 10 minutes.

***

Ich habe Mountain Dew! Ich habe Sour Patch Kids! Ich habe cigarettes! Heute die Welt, Morgens das Sonnensystem!

OK, that pretty much exhausts my German, so I'm going to stop now, while I still look clever.

***

Good heavens, you're thinking. It's 11:44 on a Saturday! Why isn't Ana at work? Well, kids, Ana works tonight, and gets the rest of the weekend off. Ana is actually stressing about this a little. Ana may bitch about working 24/7 every damn weekend, but she's also the first to admit that it's the only way she can make any money. Ana is going to stop referring to herself in the third person any minute now.

It's strange, really. I can simultaneously stress about always working, and not working enough. I really don't want to do the whole job search thing, but I think I might have to.

Yesterday was just plain nuts. I got called in at 11:30, because Kathy's mom had died, and she had to go home. (Yes, I'll admit to being irrational and pissy about this. Why did they call her at work? Could she bring her mom back to life?) Since I was feeling pissy, I told Mary and Laura that I had to leave at one, because I had to pick D. up from work. This isn't exactly true. He could have walked. It's a long, cold walk, and it would have sucked for him, but he could have done it, if I didn't show up.

Mary instantly got upset. She's normally scheduled till one, and she said she had to go at one too, but Laura would probably be OK by herself, so it was alright. Laura would not be OK by herself. I knew this. Sometimes, two people aren't really enough from 1 till about 2. So, I said I'd pick D. up, run a few other errands I had to get done today, and come back.

I left at 12:59. I picked D. up, dropped him off at home, bought cigarettes, and drove around for a half hour until I almost stopped feeling pissy. Then, I went back. Mary instantly stopped taking tables, and sat down in one of the booths. A half hour later, her husband joined her. They ordered the fried chicken, which takes 20 minutes to cook. Yeah, Mary. I can tell you had a lot to do today.

You've also gotta know that Mary is one of the worst about claiming every little discount she can get. As an employee, she gets 20% off. Yesterday, I found out that she can also get the $3 off anything eaten while working, if she didn't actually claim it yet that day. Whatever, Mary.

She's not a bad person. The customers seem to like her. I like her, in small doses. But she is the coworker from hell. She is completely out of her tiny little mind.

While Mary was sitting there doing NOTHING Laura and I were busting our butts. It finally got to where I could leave at 3. I had to go back at 4. Grumblegrumble Mary. Grumblegrumble Kathy's mom. Grumblegrumble D, cuz if I hadn't had to leave and pick him up, I might have been able to be done by 2:30.

I stopped at the gas station to pick up a copy of the Zenith newspaper and check the classifieds. As I was driving home, I saw Rijid, walking in the direction of Dante's house. I decided to spend my hour of NotWork over there.

It was possibly the first intelligent decision I'd made all day. Listening to the Diablo folk ("Spooge is actually a very sad soul." "You're just now realizing that, D?" "He's just wandering around these same dungeons, killing Diablo again and again. All he can do is dream of the day when the expansion comes out, and pray he'll have a cool-looking hat by then.") and heckling them with Rijid turned out to be far more relaxing that going home and stewing for an hour.

By the time Work Part III came around, I was much better. And, Mary had finally gone home. So, by the end of the night, I wasn't quite as "Must find new job!" But it is something I'm still thinking in the back of my head even today. Last weekend, I only worked Saturday morning. This weekend, all I get is the shitty Saturday night shift. If I don't get me some of that weekend action next week, I don't know what I'll do.

***

I just realized something. D. has been over at Dante's for going on 24 hours now. When I left there at 2 this morning, Spooge was talking trash with some other people online. I woke up at 10, and D. still wasn't home. I figured he'd come stumbling in and pass out any minute. He still hasn't. Very strange. I know he said something about Jake coming up this weekend, so D. may not come home today at all either. Well, as long as he goes to work on Monday, I guess it's ok.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey