Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

George, Money, and The Biggest Damn Icicles I've Ever Seen.
2001-01-15 14:38:32

So, yeah. There's a bunch of things that I'm thinking about, but I don't really think any of them warrant an entry. So, I'm going to write about them.

***

George goes in for his yearly shots tomorrow. It was very strange. I called, and told the receptionist my name, and his name, and she said they had an opening tomorrow. She didn't even ask if there were any shots in particular I wanted him to have. For all I know, she's planning on giving him a shot of tequila.

This is his first visit to this office, so I was expecting a long drawn-out conversation. I was expecting to have to go through his whole medical history. Not that it's that complicated. He's gotten the works every time, his rabies vacc is still good, he's never developed any complications, he's never been sick. But she didn't know that. She should have asked.

***

I'm not sure if money still sucks or not. Last night, having $400 for bills, and $80 in my pocket seemed incredible. $40 went immediately into the Drug Fund. (No, dammit. That's so totally a non-negotable expense. Do you know how long it's been since I had drugs of my very own? It will stay there, just so I know that as soon as drugs show up, they will be mine. Ideally, there'll be a little more there by the time I find anything, but $40 is enough to buy at least a little.) I spent $10 yesterday, and D. took $20. That leaves me with $10 to buy gas and food and cigarettes and a dozen other things I'm running low on.

Well, ok, I said. I can't possibly have $400 of bills left this month. So, I sat down and figured it out. 150 plus 20 plus 20 plus 80 plus 50 plus 50. Plus probably 40 for George. Plus I don't think I've paid the phone or electricity in a while. Have they been mailed yet? Did I lose them? I have no idea. Oh, and half of those ones that I know I have, I should put a little extra towards, because either they're late, or I skipped them entirely last month. I'm a bad person.

Why on earth did so many people give me credit? I obviously can't handle it.

No, no no. That's not true. I'm working all damn week. By next week Monday, I'll have at least another $100 to play with. But by then, everything will be even more way past due. Feh.

***

I was browsing through my archives the other day, and

I noticed that all of my numbers were suddenly showing up as zeroes. At first it amused me, seeing me babble about needing 00,000 in ThemePark. Then, I realized it wasn't silly. It made me look like an idiot. And I don't know how to fix it. Feh. Is anyone else seeing this? Has it always been like this, and I never noticed? What the fuck?

***

Ka-Smash! Either the neighbors just crashed their car into the side of my house, or I just lost another icicle. Let me tell you about the icicles.

For some reason, this house grew the huge-assest icicles I'd ever seen. They were nearly three feet long in most places. I shit you not. There was one outside our bedroom window that was wider than I am. And on the overhang above the porch, we had a whole row of them that extended all the way to the downstairs neighbor's roof. (That was actually a little depressing, in a demented sort of way. I'd look out the kitchen window, and I'd see bars. Made of ice. A Wisconsin metaphor, for something that scared me too much to even put into words.)

So, lately it's been getting warmer. (D. claims to have never heard the term "January Thaw." I had to tell him that maybe he didn't notice it so much the last few years because it never really got super cold, but every year in Wisconsin, December sucks, then January is unseasonably warm for a week or two, and then it gets colder than anyone would even think possible till the end of February.) The snowbanks were starting to melt. I rediscovered our driveway. And the icicles came crashing down.

I'll be in bed, or at the computer, and suddenly, there'll be this SMASH! that rattles the whole house. The next time I go out, there'll be huge icicle shards all over the driveway. I'm glad now, that the downstairs lady always makes me park way over to the side of the driveway. I will never again mock her special parking place and her need for the whole damn driveway to manuever in. I'm just glad that her parking place puts mine so far away from the house.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey