Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Springtime for Hitler
2001-01-12 14:37:42

Jan 5th-ish

I called today to switch to cable modem. When I called to cancel my current service, he did it before I had a chance to tell him the cable guy wouldn't be here till next week. He said he went back and changed it, but now I can't get online. Oh well. Guess I'm back to a week of writing entries in WordPad.

It's actually kinda funny, the reason I'm switching. Vincent et al switched about a month ago. D. had been pestering me about why we hadn't switched yet, and I told him we couldn't afford it. Then, last week, I got a reminder that my renewal at the dialup place was due. It occurred to me that right now, I would rather spend 30 a month than cough up 100 and something this week to pay for the next six months.

Yes, I can do simple math. Looking at the big picture, I'm an idiot. But using the week to week scrounging method of bill paying, though, it's the sensible alternative. I love creative finance. Even after the installation fee, I end up with $50 extra dollars right now. This is a good thing.

Except, I don't even get to put this $50 towards the other bills. The guy at the dialup place strongly recommended I invest in something called a firewall. I'd heard the term, but to be perfectly frank, I'm a little unclear on the concept. Vincent or Bob will know, though. They can explain it to me, using small words and lots of pretty pictures.

***

Hmm. Not a lot else going on. D. and I have been antisocial bums all week. I've been trying to convince myself that it's not just because we're dry and so is everyone else. D. is sick. It's cold out. We've got a couple dozen new games and movies and (in my case) books to work through. That's why we haven't called anyone, but I am a little hurt that no one's even tried to call us. Tomorrow, I've got to work at 6, and I strongly suspect I'll do a double shift, so hanging out tonight is simply not an option.

Sunday night, I'll be dead tired, but I'm probably going to try calling people anyway. It does indeed assuage my "gotta hang out with my friends!" guilt even if I'm unconscious. I've got very understanding guilt.

"Hey big G!" I say. "I'm beat here! Cut me some slack!"

Guilt rubs my shoulders understandingly. "Oh, I know you are, sweetie. Go ahead and pass out now. You've done your part. Besides, Alice likes it when you drool on her couch."

***

I hate ending entries. Years of paper writing had ground it firmly into my brain that closing arguments and recaps of pertinent points and strong concluding statements are essential, but that's harder to do in a journal. I'd feel silly trying.

"So, in summary, I'm getting a cable modem next week, and I'm starting to miss my friends."

See? Stupid. It doesn't help that my entries lately go all over the place. Maybe if I could manage to stick to one subject for each entry it would be easier to wrap them up.

Also, I'm starting to hate the old standby, "Well, I guess that's it for now. This is what I'm going to do next." It's too easy. It's meaningless. And I'm so overusing it.

***

So, today, I'm going to end on a song:

Springtime for Hitler and Germany!

(da-da da da!)

Winter for England and France!

Springtime for Hitler and Germany!

Come on Germans, go into your dance!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey