Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Score another one for Ana's raging paranoia...
2000-12-21 00:57:36

I've been writing for almost four hours, goddammit.

Basically, I had another fit of paranoia. Lynne was telling me all about this crazy thing called DiaryLand that her friend Gina had gotten her hooked on. I did not mention that I'd been reading Gina for about two months. I did not tell her that I already knew, from reading Gina, that Lynne had a diary. Instead, I told her that I had one too.

Then the paranoia came. The paranoia came down like a wolf on the fold. (Bonus dork points: Name that allusion!)

I created a new journal. My plan was to confine all the things I have to say about real people to this other journal, which would be public, because I really do enjoy being an exhibitionist. Everyone who knew me would come here, and read my lighthearted thoughts about Twinkies and ladybugs and such. Eventually, I would build a new fan base of people who were reading my real stuff under this totally unconnected name.

Then, I really thought about it.

1) Damn, is that weaselly. If I have anything to say, I should be able to say it right to someone's face, or failing that, write about it in the journal which is admittedly mine.

2) It's not even like I would be saying anything that bad over there. I'm actually fairly conscientious about writing nicely. Out of common human decency, I don't talk random vicious smack about my friends, in real life or in here.

3) If I let myself censor out all the bad things about other people, the next logical step is censoring all the bad things about myself. I love this journal. I've put too much of myself into it to let it turn into just a humor column.

4) I already have a place for the really bad stuff. It's private. Setting up a third journal, for stuff which is bad enough that I don't particularly want to admit it to real people, but not quite bad enough that no one can ever ever know is just plain silly.

***

So, I've abandoned that other journal. It's a pity that I can't just delete it, so someone else could use the name. If your heart is pure, and you want a journal named "BlueThing," (As in, "What's that blue thing doing here?" TMBG, natch.) drop me a line, and I'll give you the password.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey