Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

A Confederacy of Ladybugs
2000-10-21 22:50:11

First of all, a big ol' thankyou to whoever it was that I was reading last week. You mentioned A Confederacy of Dunces. I realized I wasn't reading anything else in particular at the moment, and I owned that book. So, I read it.

I laughed. A lot. I was going to say that Ignatius Reilly is my new role model, but then I realized that would just be too depressing. But that's why the book amused me so much. Guy graduated from college. Guy has a series of shitty jobs that he believes to be grandiose. Guy spends all his spare time filling notebooks with erudite invectives. Guy is severely delusional. I Ignatius J. Reilly. I may just slit my wrists, if I ever stop giggling.

***

There are a lot of ladybugs here. If you live anywhere near me, you know what I'm talking about. If you don't, you'll just have to trust me on this one. We're talking Amityville-style swarms of ladybugs.

A month ago, I was like, "Aw, another ladybug. That's cool. Ladybugs are good luck, right?" Then, last week, I was all "Damn, are there a lot of ladybugs. I certainly hope they're good luck. Otherwise, I'm probably screwed."

It was about then that I realized I wasn't the only one seeing them. There was a story in the Milwaukee newspaper about them. Aparently, it's a full scale invasion. Someone told me that the brown ones are actually the problem. They're Japanese. They bite.

What the hell? Ladybugs aren't supposed to bite! That's not right!

***

Hmm. That's a pretty random segue, even for me. Confederacy of Dunces and ladybugs?

You know, I bet I could weave a whole pile of connections, if I thought about it a little. Gimme a minute...

Like the infestation of ladybugs currently sweeping central Wisconsin, John Kennedy Toole's hero...er...wears a lot of red.

Don't look at me like that. I'm just getting warmed up.

Ladybugs in the kitchen

(bwah bwah bwah bwah!)

Ladybugs on the cat

(bwah bwah bwah bwah!)

Ladybugs in my ashtray

(bwah bwah bwah bwah!)

Ladybugs in my hat!

Ladybugs on the window

Ladybugs on the floor

Ladybugs is everywhere

Ladybugs, don't bug me no more!

Oh, lady lady ladybugs, don't be bugging me no-oh-oh more!

Such is the ladybug-inspired blues riff that might have been composed by Ignatius J. Reilly. You know, if he were into that sort of thing.

Hmm. There are a lot of ladies in the book. Aaaand, they all bug Ignatius! Wocka wocka wocka!

Hmm. Hmm. Ladybugs are funny. I've kinda got the impression that they eat pests, but I've never seen them doing anything, really. They fly sometimes. Mostly, they just sorta hang out. I don't actually have any proof that they're not all medievalists, working on novels while living with their mothers.

I bet they are. They're sneaky, those ladybugs. And don't forget, they're red. That's gotta be important somehow.

Yup. It's all about the ladybugs. Yes. Yes it is.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey