Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Ana whines about work again
2000-09-30 18:32:24

So, I'm working another double shift today. On the schedule it said, Sue 7-2 and 4-8. Ana 8-3. That's it. On the last month of schedules, Nick hasn't written anyone at all for Saturday nights. Saturday at 10 or so, Sue or I would ask what's going on, and then he would start calling people. Maybe he would find one person, and then either Sue or I could have the night off. Never both of us. Almost never me.

This week was supposed to be start of a New Plan. According to the Plan, Lusy would always be the second night waitress on Saturdays. Nick would only have to worry about finding one other person, and if we all rotated the Saturday night shift, it works out to one Saturday night every six weeks. Nick would put who was working on the schedule, instead of calling people that morning.

So, there it was. Sue was the Saturday night waitress this week. But then Lusy got sick. Nick tried to call, but there's no one else. So, I'm working tonight.

It's not really that I mind working. I keep telling myself that it's not much use to have Saturday night off when you have to get up early to work Sunday morning. But I was really looking forward to being done today at 3. I would have read a little, maybe straightened up my living room, and then gone and spent maybe five or six hours hanging out with friends, instead of the usual one or two. It was such a nice plan. But it's just not happening, at least not this week.

Or, maybe any week. I seem to remember him saying when I started that everyone would rotate Saturday nights. I think I have had four Saturdays nights off in the past three months. This is clearly some new interpretation of "rotation" that I was not previously aware of.

Again, I don't mind working the double shift. I just mind finding out at 1:30.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey