Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

So much action and adventure! What the hell is this? Sweeps week?
2000-09-08 01:23:09

Even barring the whole melodrama with my "stalker," there's a whole bunch of other stuff going on in my life all of a sudden. Tonight, I'm gonna talk about some of them, just for a change of pace.

There is no D., Vincent, Bob, Jay or Jack. There is only Diablo II. Seriously, this game has totally sucked all other entertainment out of my social circle. Vincent and Bob both have it on their respective machines. D. has been doing weaselly things like offering Bob experience points in his Mage game for a chance on Bob's computer. (Anne and I were over there the night he did that. There really is nowhere else in town to go. "Now wait just one minute," we said. D said, "But Dante and I used to do stuff like this all the time!") My computer will not play Diablo II. D. almost had me convinced to buy a new one, until I learned he wanted to keep it over at Vincent's house. Um, no.

They've all been playing pretty much since it came out. I remained calm. This, too, will pass, I reminded myself. Last weekend, Jay brought his computer over to Vincent and Bob's. They linked them all together to play multiplayer. Jack didn't bring his computer, but he brought the disk with his character on it. I am never going to see D. again.

Monday night, Dante's computer arrived, and they promptly got it all assimilated too, so Jay could take his computer home. (He's coming this weekend! Woo!) It's so funny, to go over there. Three computers. All playing Diablo. And there's still always at least one person just hanging out, waiting for a chance on one of the computers. D. is that person a lot less than you might think.

My new nametag sucks. No, it really really sucks. Nick made all the waitresses nametags on his computer today. It looks like it was made on a computer. It looks like it was printed on a not particularly good printer, and covered with a layer of that clear protective stuff and had a safety pin glued to the back. You think that's funny? Wait till I tell you what it says. "Yor Server is Ana Ng." Yup. "Yor." Followed by my first and last name.

And I can't even say anything. I don't want to hurt his feelings. He seemed so proud of these nametags. He likes making things on his computer. His English isn't so good. I just can't bring myself to tell him how badly executed this clever idea of his was. "Yor Server is Ana Ng." Eek.

The library had another book sale today. Jack and I went. I spent $12.85. Remember, this is at 10-25 cents a book. Sixty fucking three more books! It's ok, though. Before two months ago, I went a very long time without acquiring many new books at all. Eventually, I'm going to get this book-buying mania out of my system. Twitch twitch. Oh, yes, I will.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey