Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I work a lot. I read a lot. I even have a social life. Is it any wonder I don't write anymore?
2000-08-24 03:47:12

Memo to myself: Stop reading previous entries. I keep logging in, and planning to read just the most recent one, just to remind myself what I was talking about. Then, I start reading more and more of them, until suddenly it's hours later, and I've gotta get offline. I'm my biggest fan. (However, the next time I try that, I'll eventually read this. That'll show me. I'm always thinkin'.)

***

Tomorrow is my day off. My only day off. Nick tricked me. He said, "Annie, you work seven day a week, yes?" I said, "NO. I really need at least one day off each week." So, he went with it.

Of course, I only work 4-5 hours most days. If I wake up at nine, that's practically a full day of whatever I want, followed by a few hours of work, and then a good 3-5 more hours of whatever I want. I probably could survive on no days off. But I really resent only getting one.

I especially resent it because my whole tomorrow is booked solid. I must be in Zenith tomorrow at 11, for lunch with Grandma. My parents want me to swing by after 5, to pick up a box of books their neighbor wants to get rid of. (More books? Jesus Christ! Where will it end? And I know. I shouldn't bitch about having too many things to read. But I have too fucking many things to read Remember the 27 books I bought two weeks ago? Remember how the same day, a bunch of library books I'd put on reserve came in? Right now, there are 31 books in my home that I have not read. I've been working on the library books, and today I managed to get six of them back. I picked up three new ones, though. It's a sickness.) I don't want to drive home, and then drive back to Zenith four hours later. I was thinking about bringing a book (I've got a lotta books!) and hanging out on my parents' porch for the afternoon. Then, I decided it would be more efficient to bring my laundry to Zenith.

Lunch with Grandma. Find Laundromat. Do laundry and (hee hee hee) get caught up on my reading. Visit parents at 5, probably stay for dinner. I'll have all my obligations done by seven, a good hour and a half before I'd normally be out of work. But it's not a day off.

***

Goddamn do I read a lot. Goddamn do I still have a lot to read. These are the things I have read lately, in no particular order:

Immortality. Lila. The Joy Luck Club. Thank You For Smoking. The Story of B. God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian. Think Like a Dinosuar. The Princess Bride. Plus the half dozen I've mentioned in other entries, plus probably a few I'm forgetting.

Maybe, until I manage to get my huge freaking pile of unread books under control, I'll just keep a running box score in here. It will make me feel like I'm accomplishing something.

For the record, I currently have three unread library books, and 28 unread books that I own. (That includes two books I've owned for a long time. I've started Gravity's Rainbow a few times, but it's been put on hold again for now. I may never actually read War and Peace. I think for now, I'm OK with that.)

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey