Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Short Term Memory.
2000-04-28 08:52:29

"My short term memory has been erased. This I ascribe to the proximity of the magnetic coils from Starbug's rear engine. Secondly, due to the proximity of the magnetic coils, my short-term memory appears to have been erased. This, combined with the erasure of my short-term memory, has has left me a little disoriented, disoriented, disoriented." --Kryten

I went to bed early last night, and woke up feeling great. I'd been feeling stupider and more lethargic every day, because I kept insisting I could make it on five hours of sleep.

Today, I realized I can't. Then, I remembered that I had already established this, numerous times. This seems to be a common problem with me. I never learn anything the first time around. Sometimes, I get the message the second or third time a mistake whacks me in the face, but sometimes I don't. I've probably already vowed to do something about this, but I can't for the life of me recall exactly what I decided.

And in other news...

D. said yesterday that he wants to move as soon as possible. If we have even $1000 together by July, he would rather get the hell out than wait to see if we might be able to get farther by waiting a little longer. Last night, I thought he was nuts. He's the one who was constantly pushing for The Big City. He wants to wake up in a city that never sleeps, or so he always claimed.

Today, though, perhaps because I'm no longer sleep deprived, I can see his point. No matter what angle you look at it from, Cowtown really is a viable place to live.

1)When we lived in Milwaukee, we ate a lot of Ramen. A lot. I'm talking, we pay the bills, and have 20 bucks left for food for the next two weeks. Of course, this is largely because we were fools, and stayed at the job that cut our hours to 10/week just because it was only a block away from our home. But even when we were working full time, we could afford to go out only once or twice every two weeks. If we weren't trying desperately to save money to move, we would have a decent amount of extra money living here. Small towns are cheap. Cowtown is a small town, and it is close to numerous larger towns.

I can claim that in Chicago, I would get a real job, and in Cowtown, I'd get a slacker job. But seriously. Let's look at my work history. I'm going to get a slacker job no matter where we end up. And, in Cowtown, I could afford to. Besides, if I decided I really want to try to make it in the straight world, I could look in Anhk-Morpork, or Zenith.

If I'm right, and there is some nebulous NowhereLand Force keeping us here, our only hope of escape is to get out as soon as possible. How do we know that we wouldn't be hit by some new financial crisis after saving $1000, but before making it to the $2000 minimum I think we'd need before attempting Chicago?

Besides, my job is really starting to get to me. I keep reminding myself I've got a better deal than most waitresses think is humanly possible ($5.60/hour, plus tips, plus insurance and 401K) but I still hate it. I hate the way the cooks repeat the same jokes for weeks on end. I hate the tuxedo shirts and the shorts and the stupid little pink vests. I hate being unnaturally nice to insane old people, and getting a fucking dollar for my trouble. I hate Italian Night, Sirloin Night, Senior Night, Prime Rib Night, and Fish Fry Night. I hate setting up the buffet on Saturdays, and I really hate taking it down on Sundays. I don't want this to be my life forever. Maybe D. is right. If we don't escape soon, we never will.

I'd mentioned to Jack while we were down last that we were kind of thinking of Chicago instead of New York. Yesterday, I e-mailed him, and told him Dan was desperate to Escape NowhereLand, and we might end up in Cowtown. He hasn't responded yet.

***

I wonder if I should find it ironic that I started this entry talking about how I never learn from my mistakes, and then shifted to moving back to Cowtown. Except, I don't think Cowtown was a mistake. Maybe leaving it was the mistake. Besides, last time I lived in Cowtown, I was a college student. This time, I'd be a grown-up. A whole new world of mistakes just waiting to be made!

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey