Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

The Hidden Rituals of the Anaians: A Documentary.
2000-04-03 23:37:08

hello. I have nothing in particular to say tonight, just for a change. That's probably for the best, though.

Hmm. Both of D's returns arrived today. Together, they will just about cover my insane debt to society. Damn the Man! (save the empire!)

D. called here while I was at work. I probably shouldn't be online at all just in case he calls back. I also left a messge on Anne's machine, asking her to call tonight. Before last week, no one ever called. My parents and Christine knew enough to send me e-mail when they want to reach me. For the first time in my life, I'm finding myself wishing I had a second line. Every day for the past week, I've been forced offline, because I was waiting for a phone call. It's a terrible burden, to be so damn popular. But, now I no longer seem to need to be constantly waiting for the car dealership to call, and maybe the Lynne situation will blow over soon. Then, I can go back to my peaceful hermitlike existance.

Hmm.

Nope. Nothing. Usually by this point, I've thought of something to say. I sometimes need a few paragraphs to warm up, but tonight, I really can't seem to think of a damn thing. Maybe I'll just keep stalling for a few minutes...

(Come to meee, come to meeeee...)

Ana lights a few candles, and sits nekkid in front of her computer. Nananananaaaaa! Nananananananaaaaa!

Narrator voiceover (dramatically whispered): This is a very ancient ceremony, but usually a private one. We are fortunate indeed to have caught it on tape.

Cut to Ana, who has begun smearing chicken entrails on her monitor.

VO: The "summon muse" ritual requires complete concentration. In extreme situations, the Ana has been known to forego cigarettes for up to 20 minutes, in order to purify herself for the coming ordeal.

Ana begins pacing backwards around her computer, muttering incoherently and making strange hand gestures.

VO: Yes, the "fertility of mind" dance. According to Anaian legend, Esolenos, the Highest God, must be awakened, and then consumed. The Ana believes not only creative freedom, but the success of the crops for the coming year is assured only by appeasing Esolenos. Now, this next step is very important. Watch closely, or you might miss it.

Ana lights a cigarette.

VO: (beat) Um, the cigarette represents not only Esolenos as a Promethean figure (the Bringer of Fire, which of course symbolizes Creativity), but also the Ana's own mortality.

Ana: What? What the hell was that supposed to mean?

VO: You don't like that? I thought it was pretty good.

Ana: Look, just because I happen to have chicken guts smeared all over my computer doesn't mean I'm some sort of savage. The cigarette means I'm having a nic fit. Now get the hell out of here.

VO: Are you sure you don't want to prance some more? I, uh, brought some colored beads. I thought you might, you know, work them into an intricate weaving of some sort, and then howl a bit. The kids really like the howling thing.

Ana: No, this is just silly. Get that camera out of my face.

VO: But...

Ana:OUT!

The camera wobbles a bit, then the picture breaks into static. Roll Credits.

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey