Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

Coming Attractions
2000-03-23 23:06:56

It's late, and I'm very tired. However, I've sworn to force myself to Write Something every day. I'm not actually feeling clever enough to attempt any of these topics right now, but I thought having a list of ideas that have been wandering through my mind might be useful for future reference or something. Or, maybe it's just a cheesy cop-out of an entry.

I've been at my current job for about a year and a half. Very soon, I will have had this job for the longest I've held any single job. I'm 25 years old. This probably isn't very good. I could claim that there were a lot of extenuating circumstances. Or, I could totally destroy that line of reasoning (using a lethal combination of guilt and the classic "you are an idiot" defense). Which side I end up trying to convince myself of will probably have a lot to do with my general mood on that day. Stay tuned!

I set out to get myself a job as a waitress because Tom Robbins wrote about college-educated waitresses. Lately, I've wondering exactly what the hell I was thinking. There is a pretty damn significant gap between thinking, "Hey, I'm not using my degree for anything else. Why don't I get a job as a waitress? Then, ha ha ha, I could tell people I was a Tom Robbins character. Wouldn't that be a hoot?" and actually doing it. More on this story, as it develops!

I was thinking about writing a mock journal. Luring you all in, and then, slowly, subtly changing. Leaving you absolutely convinced that you were reading the actual events and thoughts from someone you believed was real. Then I realized that someone must have already done it. It's just too damn tempting of an idea. Then, I realized N. had done it, or at least he'd talked about it once, and for him, that's pretty much the same thing. (don't even ask. denial denial denial.)

(If I tell you who Neil is, you'll really think I'm nuts. It bothers me that I'm even thinking about him again. But this time, maybe I can use this fear, and he can be the core of this fictional journal I'm writing, the main proof that I really am as nuts as I think I am. But the irony is that I can't ever control him. As soon as I mention him, even jokingly, he's suddenly there. He's the one who originally thought of the Biographers, you know.)

(How much of that paragraph did you believe? What if I told you that while I was writing it, I actually started to believe it? What if I admitted that only a last minute flash of sanity stopped me from ICQing someone I barely know to say, "Dude, I'm freaking nuts. Come read my journal entry about my imaginary friend." Neil is probably a figment of my imagination. But sometimes, he's pretty darn persuasive...)

(ok. I'll stop now. This probably isn't nearly as amusing to you as it is to me. But you see where I'm going with this. I would have a lot of fun pretending (or being????) schizophrenic.)

previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey