Have you seen these?
A Year in Books - 2009-12-27
Skip Tracer, Loan Detective - 2009-11-22
New Job - 2009-11-03
The coleslaw got served. - 2009-10-21
Probably a new job. But maybe not. - 2009-10-08

I drank a lot of coffee today, but that really doesn't have anything to do with this entry. Think of that more as an explanation of tone than as a title.
2000-03-21 11:16:14

It has not been a good day. Last week, I took my car in, and found out that it needed about $650 worth of repairs. Today, I got a 2nd opinion. Midas did the whole two-hour full inspection, and told me that not only was my car completely unfit to drive, but it would cost me roughly $1500 to make it safe. The car cost me $700 a year and a half ago. I am now looking at getting a new car.

D's opinion last week when we got the $650 bombshell was that he did not want another used car. He thought we should either buy a brand new car, or fix the one we've got. This seemed unrealistic to me at the time, but after much discussion, I agreed to look into it. A bargain basement new car could maybe be gotten for $10,000. (Looking online turned up one for about $7,000, but further investigation revealed that that particular car had a history of wheels falling off. This would not be a good thing. Hell, if I want the thrill of suddenly driving on 3 or less wheels, I'll just keep my current car.)

Today, I went to my bank, and learned that if I was approved for a $5000 loan through them, the payments would be roughly $160/month for 3 years. Ideally, I'd like to pay about $100/month, but I could go as high as $200. (Technically, I could afford $300/month, but D. and I are also trying to save $$ to move. See below) This means that a $5000 loan is about what we can afford. This means either a used car, or one without wheels. I like wheels. You can see where I'm going with this.

Christine pointed out that there are significant differences between a $700 used car, and a $5000 used car. This is quite true. I made this argument to D. at one point, but somehow he talked me out of it. Christine was also surprised by the bank's 10.2% interest rate, and guessed that I might be able to get a better deal by going through a dealership. (I have absolutely no experience with this at all. We paid cash for the current car, which was my first ever car. She may be right. I don't have a clue. It worries me sometimes, the vast number of real life situations that I'm utterly unprepared for. But I digress.)

Tomorrow, Christine is graciously loaning me her husband, so he can drive me around to look at cars. Arthur pretty much has to know more about the whole car buying process than I do. It would be very difficult for him to know less.



previous--next


ComicsCurmudgeon
DamnHellAssKings
EWAV
Francesco
Neil Gaiman
Indeterminacy
Ironic Sans
KnowledgeForThirst
tmwfa
Postsecret
PassiveAggressive
WaiterRant
Wil Wheaton

Barren
Kahlora
LiveJournal
MySpace
Thor
Twitter


Achewood
AlienLovesPredator
DinosaurComics
Hobotopia
HoustonChron
NeuroticallyYours
PerryBibleFellowship
Pibgorn
RedMeat
Sinfest
SluggyFreelance
SomethingPositive
xkcd


Alter Ego
Chat Noir
Chronotron
CrayonPhysics
FVBN
HHGTG
House of Bugs
La Pate a Son
Popcap
sirteT
3DPong


A&L Daily
Everything
Fark
The Onion
Red Dwarf
SomethingtoRead
Slate
Straight Dope
Taus
TV Tropes
Wikipedia
Wonkette


Cockeyed
Inventors
McSweeney's
MentalFloss


GRSites
MyImager
W3
Webmonkey